<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>「朱72」　shu72.com &#187; e-mail</title>
	<atom:link href="http://shu72.com/tag/e-mail/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://shu72.com</link>
	<description>the personal website of Sonya C. Wheeler</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Tue, 20 Mar 2012 06:02:39 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	
		<item>
		<title>Computer zombies with a viral load in e-mails</title>
		<link>http://shu72.com/2004/06/25/computer-zombies-with-a-viral-load-in-emails/</link>
		<comments>http://shu72.com/2004/06/25/computer-zombies-with-a-viral-load-in-emails/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 25 Jun 2004 13:30:51 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Sonya</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[General]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[e-mail]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[internet security]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://shu72.com/2004/06/25/computer-zombies-with-a-viral-load-in-emails/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Well, I&#8217;m still getting zombiefied emails from France that have attachments with them. I guess it looks like that guy who emailed me last year got his computer hijacked recently. When he emailed me last year his email client must have saved me in his address book (A feature which can be turned off). Once [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Well, I&#8217;m still getting zombiefied emails from France that have attachments with them. I guess it looks like that guy who emailed me last year got his computer hijacked recently. When he emailed me last year his email client must have saved me in his address book (A feature which can be turned off). Once his system got infected and turned into a zombie everyone including me is now getting the emails with the attachments.</p>
<p><strong>15</strong> more between the 18th of June till now. All with the &#8220;wanadoo.fr&#8221; in the headers. Someone on there is infected and it sends itself to people with different &#8220;sender&#8221; emails. I&#8217;ve got 3 different &#8220;senders&#8221; so far. The IP numbers are different for the most part but the numbers belong to the same block&#8230; &#8220;wanadoo.fr&#8221;, as in the headers.</p>
<p>I started to keep a little <a href="http://www.openoffice.org">OpenOffice</a> spreadsheet on the attachment names, dates, IP info, subject titles, and sizes of the zombie emails I&#8217;m getting (mainly because it finally gives me a reason to start learning the ins-and-outs of OpenOffice). Plus, I figured it wouldn&#8217;t be wise to bounce the emails since that might cause more trouble in cyberspace so it&#8217;s&#8230;</p>
<p>delete, delete, delete&#33;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://shu72.com/2004/06/25/computer-zombies-with-a-viral-load-in-emails/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Rampant email viruses</title>
		<link>http://shu72.com/2004/06/17/rampant-email-viruses/</link>
		<comments>http://shu72.com/2004/06/17/rampant-email-viruses/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 18 Jun 2004 02:01:52 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Sonya</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[General]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[e-mail]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[internet security]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[spam]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://shu72.com/2004/06/17/rampant-email-viruses/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[There has been a strangely increasing amount of spam with virus attachments sent to my email. I&#8217;ve gotten more of these emails within the last few days than I&#8217;ve ever got before. 2 additional yesterday and 2 more just today. They didn&#8217;t effect or infect me. This time attachments with file the names: Manufacture.zlv Alive_condom.com [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>There has been a strangely increasing amount of spam with virus attachments sent to my email. I&#8217;ve gotten more of these emails within the last few days than I&#8217;ve ever got before. 2 additional yesterday and 2 more just today. They didn&#8217;t effect or infect me.</p>
<p>This time attachments with file the names:
<ul>
<li>Manufacture.zlv</li>
<li>Alive_condom.com</li>
<li>Counter_strike.vbs</li>
<li>bateaqxiqy.jpeg</li>
<li>Message.zip</li>
</ul>
<p>The last two were sent together, how nice. Taking a closer look at the email headers <i>(The same <i>French</i> header info as the emails I talked about a few days ago on the 15th.)</i> and the common sender name this time, I realized this joker has emailed me before (Re: Past entry titled &#8220;<a href="http://shu72.com/2003/10/dig-this">Dig this&#8230;</a>&#8221; from 28 October 03). I can&#8217;t really tell if this <em>actual</em> person deliberately sent these to me or not but it&#8217;s getting annoying. Luckily my email program has now trained itself to automatically mark it as junk mail.</p>
<p>Of course the recent four were sent with a &#8220;latinmail.com&#8221; email suffix. A popular spammer domain.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://shu72.com/2004/06/17/rampant-email-viruses/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>What the&#8230;? Spoofing and phishing.</title>
		<link>http://shu72.com/2004/06/15/what-the-spoofing-and-phishing/</link>
		<comments>http://shu72.com/2004/06/15/what-the-spoofing-and-phishing/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 15 Jun 2004 21:40:46 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Sonya</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[General]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[e-mail]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[internet security]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[spam]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://shu72.com/2004/06/15/what-the-spoofing-and-phishing/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I got a few funny emails recently. Too funny for words and an obvious attempt at forging, spoofing and phishing! Here&#8217;s one: Hello user of Eklectik.com e-mail server, Your e-mail account has been temporary disabled because of unauthorized access. For more information see the attached file. Kind regards, &#160;&#160;The Eklectik.com team &#160;&#160;&#160;&#160;&#160;&#160; http://www.eklectik.com Ha! The [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I got a few funny emails recently. Too funny for words and an obvious attempt at forging, spoofing and phishing! Here&#8217;s one:</p>
<div class="htm">
Hello user of Eklectik.com e-mail server,</p>
<p>Your e-mail account has been temporary disabled because of unauthorized access.</p>
<p>For more information see the attached file.</p>
<p>Kind regards,<br />
&nbsp;&nbsp;The Eklectik.com team &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; http://www.eklectik.com</p></div>
<p>Ha! <em>The Eklectik.com team</em>?! Gee, what a minute, That&#8217;s me! Funny I don&#8217;t remember doing any &#8220;unauthorized access&#8221; on my account and sending myself and email to that affect preventing me from accessing my own email. <i>Bad me. For shame!</i> Go figure.</p>
<p>An attached file you say? Obvious ploy to get me to open an attachment in an email from a sender who is unknown&#8212;but in the case of the one from The Eklectik.com team, well there is no &#8220;The Eklectik.com team&#8221; Thank You, but no. Try again.</p>
<p>Who ever this asshole is (whether human or machine) they sent me some other emails too but with the sender email address changed. Apparently with a different attachment with them with names like: <span class="file">MoreInfo.pif</span>, <span class="file">Toy.com</span>, <span class="file">the_message.com</span> and <span class="file">Info.scr</span>. All of which to me spell out trouble (i.e. virus, trojan, phishing).</p>
<p>Some of the emails didn&#8217;t even have any regular plain text in the body of the message. Except one that only stated &#8220;I love you answer me please&#8221; and gave a website address. My <ins>sarcastic</ins> answer: &#8220;Oh, O.K. Uuh, I think it&#8217;s time we started seeing other people. Really, it&#8217;s been great, but I feel we&#8217;ve grown distant. We can still be friends alright&#63;&#8221; I really didn&#8217;t respond to the email.</p>
<p>Most likely a phishing scam on that one. From the headers I think I&#8217;ve narrowed it down to it being supposedly sent from a French domain and an IP based in the Netherlands (Amsterdam).</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://shu72.com/2004/06/15/what-the-spoofing-and-phishing/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

